OUR BILINGUAL BLOG

"Learn to imagine, imagine to learn" with the Bilingual Program at I.E.S. Albert Einstein"

Halloween is Here!

on October 29, 2010

Activity 1: Halloween is here! This is a greeting card for all my students. Open it if you dare!

Activity 2: This is a Presentation about Halloween created by our American assistant Brooke.

Activity 3: Read one of the best scary stories written by students in the third ESO:

A TERRIBLE NIGHT by José Antonio Cárdenas

This story happened fifty years ago when a family was having dinner. The father came from his job (he was a policeman) and he had a present for his children. The present was a statue made in India. The father said to them: “Jack, Julie, this is for you, I saw it in the street.” The children put it in a fcupboard because they didn’t like it.
When it was night, the family went to bed, and they thought  that the day had been normal… This was a mistake.

At twelve o’clock, the statue’s eyes began to shine and it began to ascend on the air. It went towards Jake’s bedroom. He got up because he heard a noise. Then, he felt a something weird  behind him.
Before he could see it, the statue cut his head off with its arm. The blood splashed all the bedroom.
After this murder, the statue went to Julie’s bedroom. It broke the door with its hand and it threw a knife to Julie’s head. She died immediately.

 The parents were sleeping and they didn’t hear anything. Suddenly, the wife got up because she was thirsty. She was going to the kitchen, but she saw Julie’s corpse and Jack’s corpse. She shouted and she woke up his husband. He, scared, ran towards his wife.

When he arrived, he saw that the statue had beheaded his wife with its sword. The man, angry and scared, took his gun and he shot the statue, but it didn’t die. Finally, the statue took the man and it broke him into two parts.
The blood flooded the house.

This is the end of this story… but tonight the same could happen you same…

Activity 4: Now watch this videoclip “This is Halloween” with English subtitles from the classic film “Nightmare Before Christmas” . Sing along!

Activity 5: Participate in this poll about how you celebrate Halloween. If you have more than one answer vote again.

Final activity: Send a comment to this post about how you celebrate this festival, your opinion about it, a spooky message,  some tips to stay alive this Halloween, or maybe the link to any interesting Halloween website or video.

32 responses to “Halloween is Here!

  1. José Antonio Tebar Falcón says:

    In my house, we don’t celebrate Halloween. I don’t like it either, but at least I have fun when I see people on their costumes!!

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-1aui-wluE This is the link of a very god video about the “Life and death of a pumpkin”

    Sorry Helena, I put it first.

  2. Rocio Torrado says:

    In my house we do not celebrate Halloween. We do not like this event.
    We visit our grandparents in the cemetery.

  3. Gabriel González González says:

    My family and I celebrate Halloween in the following way: First, at noon, we visit my grandfather´s grave and take some flowers to him. After that we go to “Isla Mágica” to spend the day there because there is a party dedicated to Halloween every year.

  4. Jane, Ele & Cosy says:

    Jose Antonio, you can say what you want, but ELENA was first.
    -Teacher the video is really good!! we love it!!

  5. Alvaro Boris Ribera Zenteno says:

    My family and I don’t celebrate Halloween because we don’t think that it’s something to celebrate.

    Anything happens!

  6. NeReA!! =) says:

    I went to a party and I wear a costume and was realy realy good party

  7. Manuel.L and Manuel.M says:

    We don’t celebrate Halloween because we don’t like Halloween.

  8. Paula Huerta says:

    I celebrated halloween with my friend Adri and other persons dont wear costumes.

  9. Belen y Patri says:

    Make a big party with my friends, dress up.
    Tell your mother that you may not survive the night and not to cry for you, there will be no going back. x)

  10. Adrian Mesa says:

    Yes, I celebrate Halloween with my friend Paula and we wear costumes.=)

  11. Cosy says:

    3 years ago my brother David was born the Halloween Day, so every Halloween I visit him, and we celebrate his birthday. It meens that I can’t celebrate Halloween!! But it doesn’t matter because the next year I’ll celebrate it!!

  12. José Antonio Cárdenas Orta says:

    When it’s Halloween’s day, my family and I buy Halloween’s decorations because we decorate our house. However, we don’t celebrate Halloween in the street.
    The next day, we go to cemetery to visite my grandad.

  13. Miguel Angel Romero Gómez says:

    In mi house, my family and I don’t celebrate Halloween.
    Sometimes We watch terror films.

  14. Arturo falcon neyra says:

    I never celebrate Haloween.

  15. Laura Seller y Maria Barrera says:

    In my house we never celebrate Halloween. But I sometimes go to my friends’ house to see horror films.

  16. Laura Delgado says:

    I never celebrate halloween with my family, but always I went to a party with my friends in a disco!!!

  17. Manuel.L and Manuel.M says:

    We like Jose’s story is “real like the real life” no, it’s a joke! It’s a bloody story but is cool.

  18. PAOLA:
    In my house we always celebrate Halloween. I hang out with my friends and my sister goes with her friends to say trick or treat to the houses.
    My mother & my father… it depends… for example this year my father was working & my mother was playing a joke to the boys and girls that say trick or treat to her.
    ROCIO:
    In my house we always celebrate Halloween . But this year I didn’t dress up, my sister yes.
    My parents didn’t celebrate, they were eatting…..REALY!!!

  19. Paola & Rocio ( the best hahahaha...) =) says:

    PAOLA:
    In my house we always celebrate Halloween. I hang out with my friends and my sister goes with her friends to say trick or treat to the houses.
    My mother & my father… it depends… for example this year my father was working & my mother was playing a joke to the boys and girls that say trick or treat to her.
    ROCIO:
    In my house we always celebrate Halloween . But this year I didn’t dress up, my sister yes.
    My parents didn’t celebrate, they were eatting…..REALY!!!

  20. Jane says:

    My family celebrates the Halloween depending of the year. Normaly web do a “fiestuky” and I say Fiestuky, thats not a party. First all are in the same room, singing and dancing and eating. Later the children go to his rooms, put off the light abd tell terror history. And later, we going again with our parents and we play the trivial or something like that. But thats year I can’t celebrate, my parents went with his friends to a spa, and to eat in a travesti restaurant. Was the birthday of my mothers friends and like their are crazies… So I have to do the diner to my sister, and I can’t go with my friends cose Cosy went to Madrid and Ele don’t call me (I hate you Ele) TT.TT
    So, finally I was the last Halloween alone…
    Or maybe was a gosth with me…

  21. NeReA!! =) says:

    I dont like the story of jose antonio because no is scary

    • José Antonio Cárdenas Orta says:

      I am sorry but if you don’t like my story I can’t to do nothing, but it is published because this is the teacher’s favourite story.

  22. David Salas says:

    Recent years have been going to parties organized by friends, this year we made dinner together. 🙂

  23. alejandro alvarez says:

    in the last year I went to dinner with my friends

  24. Elena says:

    This halloween I went out with my friends.
    We went to the ”Sancho”, and we had pizzas, burgers…
    Last year I couldn’t go out because I was sick, and I had to stay at home.
    I used to went out to other houses for peolple to give me sweets 🙂

  25. Alvaro Boris Ribera Zenteno says:

    This story is very bloody and I don’t like that the status be immortal
    the status is very evil.

    • José Antonio Cárdenas Orta says:

      Álvaro, I think if the statue isn’t immortal, the story hasn’t got “gracia”
      However, thank you for your comment.

  26. Jane, Ele & Cosy says:

    These are our Halloween videos:

    This is a video we like:

  27. Jose Antonio Tebar Falcon says:

    I don’t like the stories in wich the bad guy is immtortal, but is very difficult to invent an story like that, so: BRAVO!!!

  28. Antonio José & Alejandro Rodriguez says:


    This is the best video

Leave a Reply

