OUR BILINGUAL BLOG

"Learn to imagine, imagine to learn" with the Bilingual Program at I.E.S. Albert Einstein"

International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women

on November 23, 2010

Next Thursday 25th November we celebrate the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women.

Women’s activists have marked 25 November as a day against violence since 1981. This date came from the brutal assassination in 1960, of the three Mirabal sisters, political activists in the Dominican Republic, on orders of Dominican ruler Rafael Trujillo (1930-1961).

In our school we will organize activities to raise public awareness of the problem on that day.

We will decorate our school with posters in Spanish, English and French.

And now listen to these sad songs by Christina Aguilera “I’m OK” and “Oh mother”. She tells a true story about herself. She had to live a painful childhood with her father beating her mum.

Here is another song sent by Isa Conde: Face Down by the Red Jumpsuit Apparatus.

Celine Dion has also a beautiful song against this type of violence “This Time”.

Finally the new version of “I love the way you lie. Part 2” by Rihanna. What she feels is not love. LOVE IS NOT ABUSE!

Here is a message we all must learn in the song sent by Cosy “Pearl”  by Katy Perry: YOU ARE UNSTOPPABLE!

I hope you like the songs and get the message.

 VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN SLOGANS

  1. Stop violence against women.
  2. No more violence against women.
  3. Against violence against women.
  4. Break the silence, on women’s violence.
  5. End violence to women NOW.
  6. Some men break more than their girlfriends’ hearts.
  7. What part of NO don’t you understand?
  8. Ask, listen, respect.
  9. Men are not born violent, men learn to be violent.
  10. Men: Be proud to be non-violent.
  11. Real men don’t hit.
  12. Zero tolerance on violence against women.
  13. Women rights are human rights.
  14. It´s time to talk.
  15. Heroes don’t hit.
  16. He beat her 150 times. She only got flowers once.
  17. Stop the cycle of violence.
  18. Some men break more than their girlfriends’ heart.
  19. Domestic violence. Break the silence.
  20. For many women, home is a prison.
  21. For some women, make-up is a necessity, not vanity or a pleasure.
  22. Real strength is in the mind, not in the fist.
  23. Affects those you love.
  24. Say no to gender based violence.
  25. Stop all violence against women.
  26. Human rights for all.
  27. Against violence on women.
  28. End violence against women.
  29. Violence against women is not acceptable.
  30. Violence against women is a crime.
  31. Don´t turn your back on women.

ACTIVITY 1: Send us a comment to this post with your own slogan to stop this kind of violence. You can include an image or a youtube video.

ACTIVITY 2: You can also participate in our new wallwisher for the elimination of violence against women. Insert a slogan and a song against violence or an image.

48 responses to “International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women

  1. I hate violence against women. Men think that they are better than women and it isn’t true.

  2. maria barrera perez y patricia osto says:

    Better than “all” the support to victims of gender violence, try to end these tragedies because we are all equal.

  3. Adrian and Rocio says:

    Carmen, your article is very interesting and is a good work. NO TO GENDER VIOLENCE!! A kiss for everybody! See you!

  4. nerea says:

    i don´t like the violence becouse reason death

  5. maria & elena says:

    I don’t agree that the man beats the woman because I think it’s not fair.
    I think this is a important day for the women, because is a day to remember the dead women.

  6. Alvaro B. Rivera Centeno & Jose A. Tebar Falcon says:

    We think that violence against women is really bad, just like bullying or violence in general. We must all stop violence on women.

  7. Miguel y Alejandro says:

    We do agree, we must ask, listen, respect.

  8. David SaLaS says:

    NO gender violence!

  9. Laura and Aroa says:

    I think everyone should think the same about gender violence because it is something that nobody wants, but some of us may think it is a good way to help those who are suffering from that.

  10. Manuel Loza y José Antonio Cárdenas says:

    If you beat a woman, you are less of a man.

  11. Alejandro Alvarez y Juan Jose Aldomar says:

    It is very sad and it seems to me that we are all equal.

  12. Paola Fernández Rey says:

    I hate violence, violence is stupid. I don’t like violence.

    violence + man = animals

    The worst is not the people who hit a woman, it is the people who look to another side.

    By = A woman (… a girl)

  13. rocio y belen says:

    This day is very important. Violencw is very bad.

  14. elna y maria 1ºbilingue says:

    It is necessary to put an end to the gender-based violence, now!

  15. arfresno says:

    Women are human, too. Why don´t they have the same rights? It is not fair!

  16. Victor Manuel Pradas says:

    All my support for the victims.

  17. Juan Andrés & José Manuel says:

    No violence.
    We need family and “love” for a good world.

  18. Lorena Salinas Macarro y Paola A. Ribera Zenteno says:

    Lorena:
    Stop all violence against women. I think it’s horrible that women suffer daily attacks. All for a righteous life for all, we all have rights, and women too.

    Paola:
    My opinion is that women suffer daily attacks and many people see that they do not say anything for fear. If someone knows that someone has suffered attacks they should say that because the damage can be fatal.

  19. Victor Manuel Pradas says:

    I don´t like violence
    All my support for the affected.

  20. Miguel Angel says:

    No violence.
    We are all equal.

  21. cecilia says:

    women don’t belong to anyone, we aren’t objects to throw away, we need to be cuddled up and loved.

  22. Marta Segura Real says:

    ASHANTI – RAIN ON ME

    I’m lookin’ in the mirror
    At this woman down and out
    She’s internally dyin’
    I know this was not what love’s about

    I don’t wanna be this woman
    The second time around
    ‘Cause I’m wakin’ up screamin’, no longer believin’
    That I’m gonna be around

    And over and over I tried
    Yet over and over you lied
    over and over I cried, yeah
    I don’t know why

    And over and over I tried
    Yet over and over you lied
    over and over I cried, yeah
    I don’t know why

    Rain on me
    Lord, won’t you take this pain from me
    I don’t wanna live, I don’t wanna breathe
    Baby, just rain on me
    Lord, won’t you take this pain from me
    I don’t wanna live, I don’t wanna breathe, tell ya just

    See, I don’t want to hug my pillow late at night no more
    I’m tossin’ and turnin’ and thinkin’ ’bout burnin’ down these walls
    I-I don’t wanna fuel this fire no more, no more, no more
    See, I made up my mind ’cause I’ve wasted my time
    Ain’t nothin’ here to keep me warm

    I’m so tired of the rain
    In my life
    And I’m so tired of the strain
    And now you’re gonna lie

    BE A REAL MAN, DON’T BETTER WOMEN

  23. Eugenio Rodriguez says:

    hello teacher here I leave the title of two songs for International Day for the elimination of
    Gender violence: falsalarma – bondad o malicia y el chojin – el final del cuento de hadas-

    NO MORE VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN

  24. Isa Conde says:

    Your silence is your prison.

  25. Alejandro Camacho Laguna says:

    You say NO for abuses!

  26. Eugenio Rodriguez says:

    hello teacher here I leave the title of two songs for International Day for the elimination of
    Gender violence: falsalarma – bondad o malicia y el chojin – el final del cuento de hadas-

    NO MORE VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN

  27. Cristina Rodríguez says:

    Don’t shut up it. Ask for help.

    Not for abusing a woman, you are more man.

  28. Cristina Rodríguez says:

    Not for abusing a woman, you are more man.

    Don’t shut up it. Ask for help.

  29. Raquel Castillo says:


    STOP ALL VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN

  30. Eugenio Rodriguez says:

    Hi teacher here I leave the titles of two songs for International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women : falsalarma – bondad o malicia y el chojin – el final del cuento de hadas.

    No more violence against woman

  31. Eduardo Zafra says:

    Violence is not the way, say not to violence, any kind of it

  32. Irene Arenas says:

    You must denounce domestic violence.
    End violence to women NOW.

  33. patricia says:

    We do agree, we must ask, listen, respect.

  34. Rocio y Adrián says:

    Be sure to be a flower for a weed closer to saying that you want.

  35. Alejandro Alvarez y David Salas says:

    No more violence !


  36. Alejandro Alvarez y David Salas says:

  37. Maria Barrera y Laura Seller says:

    Acts before you do it.
    One call could save your life.
    016!!!!!

  38. Patricia Osto y Belen Navarro says:

    Stop feet before it is too late.

  39. Maria Barrera y Laura Seller says:

    Never let anyone touch you NEVER!

  40. Elena & Maria says:


    Katy’s talking about her new song called pearl, she’s saying that this song is dedicated to the people that feel in a shell and can’t go out because of friends… and of course of men.
    This song will help you to be stronger and be a pearl.

  41. Laura Delgado & Paula Huerta says:

    from abused , no treat

  42. José Antonio Cárdenas Orta says:

    The violence against women must be delete because this is terrible.

  43. […] International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women November 2010 47 comments 4 […]

Leave a Reply

